Past Shows

Feb 12-13, 2010
Shostakovich: A Portrait

A celebration of one of the greatest composers of the 20th century, this program features two of his greatest chamber works and his rarely performed Jazz Suite. A work of live cinema and choreography by Peter Mettler and Andrea Nann will accompany the monumental 2nd Trio for Piano, Violin & Cello.

Program & Repertoire

Romance from The Gadfly

Reading by R. H. Thomson

text by Andrew Burashko

Quartet No. 8 in C Minor, Op 110

i. Largo - attacca

ii. Allegro molto - attacca

iii. Allegretto - attacca

iv. Largo - attacca

v. Largo - attacca

Jazz Suite No. 1

i. Waltz

ii. Polka

iii. Foxtrot (blues)


Piano Trio No. 2, Op. 67

i. Andante moderato

ii. Allegro non troppo

iii. Largo

iv. Allegretto

Choreography by Andrea Nann

Images by Peter Mettler & Nick de Pencier

Performers & Artists

Andy Ballantyne, alto sax
Shalom Bard, conductor
Benjamin Bowman, violin
James Brown, guitar
Andrew Burashko, piano
Steven Dann, viola
John Johnson, alto sax 
Al Kay, trombone 
Rachel Mercer, cello
Peter Mettler, live film mix
Andrea Nann, dancer & choreographer
Roberto Occhipinti, double bass
Rob Pitch, guitar
Don Rooke, steel guitar
Ryan Scott, percussion
Stephen Sitarski, violin
Perry White, tenor sax